Posted in Thoughts

Outlining. Blah.

It would appear that to write a good novel it is recommended doing this thing called “outlining”. It sounds suspiciously like planning. Which immediately makes me hate it with an irrational passion and decide instantly it’s not going to work and I’d rather never write a book ever than have to even look at a bullet point.

This is my own knobishness speaking of course. My abiding fear of planning is that it will strip away all the spontaneous creativity which is the bit I love most about writing. That I’m going to end up pinned in a corner fending off lists with my pencil. Which of course is ridiculous. Everyone knows you can only fend of lists with a pen.

Anyway, in an attempt to rid myself of my organisophobia I have downloaded this. It’s called the Snowflake Method and its a way of breaking down your idea and building on it in a structured way over the course of a few days.

Sounds horrendous.

But I’m willing to give it a go! *Shudder* I realise for most people this seems like a really easy and structured way to get your ideas out but I’m weird and I like to pants things.

Well, at least I’m not hippopotomonstrosesquipedaliophobic.

J & N

Leave a Reply

